2018 Winner - Gray Areas by Jack Safir & Kat Swander

View the 2018 Teen Press Award Finalists


The Teen Press Award had given awards to exceptional hero-themed journalistic short films made by youth. 

This award was sponsored by Teen Press. We are thankful for years of support!

The Teen Press is a national educational outreach program based on a model program at Santa Barbara Middle School, started by teachers John Siegel Boettner and David Teton-Landis in 2007, to cover the Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

Since then, the young journalists have reported on stories that include the inauguration of President Barack Obama in Washington, D.C., the MacWorld Expo in San Francisco, and the South by Southwest Festival in Austin, Texas. They've addressed a diverse set of issues including
global warming, city planning and gun violence.

View the trailer for Teen Press the Movie


2017 Winner Growing a Healthy Community by Amanda Wright

2016 Winner Superheroes of a New Order by Ramses Mosley-Wise & Kamau Mantague

2016 teen press winner

Additional Links

Teen Press Website
KCRW Article about Teen Press